The City of Shannon’s population is represented by elected council members. They decide the municipality’s direction and priorities, and manage city business.


The council is composed of a mayor and six councillors.


The council maintains the community’s quality of life. The elected representatives must always make decisions that are in the interests of the citizens they represent and only during council meetings, in the form of regulations or resolutions.

Individually or outside of council meetings, elected representatives cannot make decisions on behalf of the city, with the exception of the mayor when exercising his or her emergency powers.

The council usually makes decisions based on a majority of the members present and usually meets once a month, but can meet more frequently. The council can also convene special assemblies.


The council’s primary role is to make sure that the services provided meet the needs of the community.

The types of issues submitted to the council may vary by city, but all councils must adopt a budget and ensure the city’s financial stability. The council assumes the rights and duties conferred by the Municipal Code of Québec, as well as by certain related statutes, such as the Act respecting municipal taxation and the Act respecting land use planning and development.
Thus, the council can set guidelines for various aspects of the quality of community life, including economic development, city planning, drinking water supply, wastewater treatment, community development, recreation and culture, etc.


In accordance with the Municipal Ethics and Good Conduct Act, the Shannon City Council has adopted a code of ethics and good conduct for elected municipal officials.

The code of ethics and good conduct specifies the values that must guide the conduct and decision-making of the City of Shannon’s elected representatives. It establishes the rules of conduct to avoid conflicts of interest, favoritism, embezzlement and other forms of misconduct. It also establishes the mechanisms for imposing disciplinary actions against an elected official who fails to follow a rule established by this code.

Council members

Mike-James Noonan

President of the municipal council
Principal representative of the City

Culture, history and heritage
Local Heritage Council

Francine Girard
Seat No. 1

Family and Seniors Advisory Committee
Community life
Representative: Valcartier Family Center

Alain Michaud
Seat No. 2

Public security
Technical services

Normand Légaré
Seat No. 3

Planning Advisory Committee
Technical services
Town planning

Representative: Vélopiste Jacques-Cartier / Portneuf

Saül Branco
Seat No. 4

Acting mayor
Economic development

Sarah Perreault
Seat No. 5

Planning Advisory Committee
Economic development
Town planning

Sophie Perreault
Seat No. 6

Economic development
Human ressources

Régie de gestion des matières résiduelles
Corporation of the Jacques-Cartier Basin